Ohio Psychological Association of Graduate Students

With more than 150 members, the Ohio Psychological Association of Graduate Students (OPAGS) is an active organization uniting graduate students throughout Ohio.

OPAGS is supported by the Ohio Psychological Association (OPA), with the OPAGS chair serving as a voting member of the OPA Board of Directors. Additionally, OPAGS members may serve on OPA Committees.

Becoming a Student Affiliate of OPA automatically enrolls you as a member of OPAGS. OPAGS offers all its members enormous opportunities to enhance their development towards a career in psychology and to shape the future of the discipline. From the ability to serve as an OPAGS Executive Board member, to opportunities to present your work at OPA’s annual convention, membership in OPA/OPAGS will help you succeed in school and develop as a member of the psychological community.

2013-14 Executive Committee

Chair: Terri Pelley, University of Cincinnati
Chair-Elect: Demaree Bruck, University of Cincinnati
Communications Coordinator: Teresa Mueller, Wright State University
Diversity Chair: Nikki Winchester, Xavier University
Continuing Education Chair: Ashley Murray, Wright State University
Advocacy Chair: Roshni Rao, Wright State University
Committee on Social Responsibility Chair: Kelly Obert, Wright State University
Research Chair: John Forrette, Xavier University

If you are interested in becoming active on one of these committees, please email the above listed chairs.

History of OPAGS

OPAGS was originally the vision of Michael Ranney, executive director of the Ohio Psychological Association (OPA). OPAGS remains one of only a handful of graduate student psychological associations in the United States.

In August 2000, the first student summit was held in Columbus, Ohio. At that meeting, Michael Ranney presented and discussed his vision for the development of OPAGS. In September 2001, a draft of the by-laws was considered by a newly elected OPAGS Board, headed by Jackie Scheff of Xavier University.

In July 2002, the first OPAGS Summer Workshop proved a successful beginning to our networking and educational efforts. This event has become an annual one, held each spring.

During the 2002-03 year, OPAGS received national recognition as the Outstanding State Provincial Student Organization during the APA State Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C.

The 2007-08 academic year was marked by the renovation of the OPAGS mentoring program.

In 2009, OPAGS won the Outstanding State Student Organization Award for the second time during the APA State Leadership Conference.


Choose a County


RSS News From OPA

  • Avoid Tax Day Tension
    American Psychological Association and Ohio Psychological Association Offer Strategies for Managing Money Stress With today’s IRS tax deadline, it’s not uncommon for Americans to experience financial ... […]
  • Did You Know: April 2014
    April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month Tips for Engaging Youth in Sexual Assault Prevention Efforts By: Anna R. Hawley, MA Since April 2001, the month of April ... […]
  • President’s Message: April 2014
    Ohio Leaders Take Psychology’s Message to Washington By: Kathleen Ashton, PhD, OPA President Every March, leaders in psychology from around the U.S. converge in Washington, D.C. ... […]