Chair: Roshni Rao, Wright State University

Roshni is a third year clinical psychology doctoral student at Wright State University. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Case Western Reserve University and masters degree from Vanderbilt University. She is interested in working with children and adolescents suffering from neurodevelopmental disorders, neurological disorders, and chronic illnesses. Her dissertation research will focus on pediatric neuropsychology. She is passionate about mental health advocacy work and helping individuals access mental health services. She is excited to serve on the OPAGS board, again, this year along with an extremely talented group of individuals.

Chair-Elect: Ashley Debeljak, Wright State University
Continuing Education Chair: Julie Meade, Xavier University

Julie Meade is a clinical psychology doctoral student at Xavier University.  She has worked with individuals across the lifespan providing individual and group therapy, conducting assessments, and providing psychoeducational programming. Julie has had practica at several universities, an inpatient unit for children, a school-based program for middle and high-school students, and Xavier’s training clinic. Julie has had training in dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) and is interested in working with individuals with patterns of emotional dysregulation, self-injury, and suicidality. She has completed her dissertation on problematic Internet use and how it relates to stress and loneliness in college students and is involved in community-based research with children. She is a student affiliate of APA, OPA, and ABCT and am a member of the OPA Professional Practice Committee.

Diversity Chair: Maximilian Tokarsky, Wright State University
Social Responsibility Chair: Sarah Greenberg, Wright State University

Sarah is a fourth year clinical psychology doctoral student at Bowling Green State University, with a community concentration. She is originally from the Detroit area, and received a BA in Psychology from Michigan State University in 2009. She then spent two years working as a Research Associate for the Bipolar Research Team at the University of Michigan Depression Center. Her primary research and clinical interests focus on working with marginalized populations, particularly people with serious mental illnesses. Outside of her graduate studies, she is interested in watching baseball, hiking, traveling, and hanging out with her ferrets, Ricky Wiggles and Ferret Bueller. She looks forward to serving the board this year as the Social Responsibility Chair.

Teresa Smith picCommunications Chair : Teresa Smith, University of Cincinnati

Teresa is a second year Clinical Psychology doctoral student at the University of Cincinnati. She received her bachelor’s degree in psychology as well as a substance abuse counseling certificate at the University of Cincinnati in 2011. Prior to graduate school, Teresa worked as Clinical Research Coordinator at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center from 2011 to 2014. She is passionate about partnering with communities to address social determinants of health that adversely affect underserved populations. Currently, Teresa is working on a project that aims to identify psychosocial stressors that lead to pre-term birth. She is excited to serve on the board this year as the Communications Chair.

LuchkiwScience & Technology Chair: Tara Luchkiw, University of Mississippi (Ohio resident)

Tara is a doctoral student in Clinical Psychology at the University of Mississippi. She received her bachelor’s degree in Applied Psychology from Pennsylvania State University, master’s degree in Psychology from Stephen F. Austin State University, and master’s degree in Clinical Psychology from the University of Mississippi. She is interested in normative cultural behaviors, including physical and spiritual health behaviors, and the resulting impact on mental health. Her dissertation will examine how different types of religiosity combine with social factors to predict psychological well-being. After relocating from Mississippi to Ohio in 2013, Tara joined OPAGS to establish connections with local psychologists and graduate students. She is looking forward to further involvement with Ohio graduate students by serving them in their needs related to academia and research.

Advocacy Chair: Kelly Obert, Wright State University

Kelly Obert is a student at Wright State’s School of Professional Psychology.  Prior to beocming a student at Wright State, Kelly worked as a master’s level therapist with the Seriously Mentally Ill population. Her experience with this population sparked her interest and participation in the development of sound mental health policy and programming for this often underserved group. Kelly’s clinical interests include the Seriously Mentally Ill population, Personality Disorders and and integrated health care treatment models.  Her dissertation will explore how professional’s attitudes towards integrated care may affect health care outcomes. Kelly is trained in Dialectical Behavior Therapy and is level two trained in Eye Movement Desnsitization and Reprocessing. Kelly looks forward to her work with OPAGS and getting to know the psychology community in Ohio!

OPAGS Campus Reps

The OPAGS Board appoints a campus representative at every graduate psychology program in the state. The duties of this position include making membership and program information available to students of their campus, developing a network of students on campus who are willing to participate in advocacy efforts and alerting the executive council to recent issues of concern to students.

The following is a list of all graduate psychology programs in Ohio and the current campus representative, if available. Interested in becoming a campus rep? Contact the OPAGS Chair to learn more.

University of Akron

Bowling Green State University

Case Western University

University of Cincinnati: Teresa Smith

Cleveland State University

University of Dayton

Kent State University

Miami University

The Ohio State University: Erin Altenburger

Ohio University

University of Toledo: Andrea Kiss

Walden State University

Wright State University:  Ryan Rose

Xavier University: Courtney Mills


Choose a County


RSS News From OPA

  • 2017 OPA Convention Call for Proposals
    The Strength to Lead, Connect and Heal April 26-28, 2017 | Columbus, Ohio Proposal Deadline: 5 p.m. on Friday, October 28, 2016 The Ohio Psychological Association invites program ...
  • September is Infant Mortality Awareness Month
    Bobbie Celeste, PhD OPA Director of Professional Affairs   Senator Shannon Jones, Chair of the Senate Health Committee and Senator Charleta Tavares, the minority leader of the ...
  • The Broad View: September 2016
    Michael Ranney, MPA OPA Executive Director Here we are just a few weeks after the deadline for completing the mandatory continuing education requirement, and we still ...